Poland's Skra claim honours ahead of Men's Club World Championship


PGE Skra Belchatow celebrate their 2018 Polish Supercup title ahead of hosting the 2018 FIVB Club World Championship.

Lausanne, Switzerland, October 25, 2018 - With the 2018 FIVB Volleyball Men's Club World Championship just a month away, competition hosts PGE Skra Belchatow are building momentum ahead of the big event, having just won the Polish Cup with an emphatic win over Trefl Gdansk, Wednesday in Gdansk's Ergo Arena.

Mariusz Wlazly led Skra with a match-high 22 points in their 3-0 (25-17, 25-20, 25-20) win, which came a few days after the two teams met for the PlusLiga with Skra taking that match in five sets.

"The fact that we won [the Supercup] will be very constructive for us," said Skra middle blocker Karol Klos who ctonributed five of his team's 14 blocks. "The more that we play, the better we understand each other on the court."

The Club World Championship begins in the Polish cities of Radom (Pool A) and Rzeszow (Pool B) on 26 November with eight teams divided into two pools of four each.

FIVB Volleyball Men's Club World Championship - Match schedule

Reigning Polish champions Skra are joined in Pool A in Radom by defending world champions Zenit Kazan of Russia, a second Russian entry of Fakel Novy Urengoy and Italy's Cucine Lube Civitanova.

Pool B is headed by Poland's second entry of Asseco Resovia Rzeszow and also features four-time world champions Trentino Diatec of Italy, reigning Asian club champions Khatam Ardakan of Iran and reigning South American champions and three-time world champions Sada Cruzeiro of Brazil.

Russia's Zenit Kazan (here celebrating their 2017 world title, are up again hosts PGE Skra Belchatow in Round 1 of this year's FIVB Club World Championship.

Matches in Pool A will be played on 26, 27 and 29 November. Pool B sees action on 26, 28 and 29 November. The top two teams of each pool advance to the final round in Czestochowa, with crosswise semifinals on 1 December and the medals matches on 2 December.

All matches begin at 17:30 and 20:30 local time.

• Tickets are available online here.


All the News